6 topics in IS – 7 assessed blog posts

Word Cloud - terms in Information Systems

I’m considering 6 topics for assessed blog posts; I’m hoping that these will:

  • Be ‘big’ in current IS discourse;
  • Be visible in industry/consumer news;
  • Interest me;
  • Be well represented in academic and/or white papers (possibly including some written by members of the University).

Taken together, I’d like them to sum up what’s currently hot in IS and the digital world while also representing areas of political, individual, communal and social concern

Here’s my first list; I will not change it. However, once I have completed all 7 assignments I’ll post – here – an additional list of the topics I’ve covered; it’ll be interesting to compare the two lists!

  1. Internet of Things
  2. Digital Divide
  3. Social networking and the productisation of the consumer
  4. Privacy and the Right to be Forgotten
  5. Trolling and Demonisation
  6. The Future

Links to Posts that I’ve written for assessment

Once posts are published, I’ll list-link to them here in order of final publication (ie when I consider them complete):

  1. Internet of Things (academic paper critique)
  2. Digital Divide – Low Literacy Users and the Web (white paper critique)
  3. Reflection #1 – Digital Entrepreneur Personification Exercise (video reflection)
  4. Ad-Blocking: Consumer Protection or Death of the Free Web? (white paper critique)
  5. Privacy and Big Data (webcast)
  6. Can the Field of MIS be Disciplined (academic paper critique)
  7. Reflection #2: IS Explosion

Leave a comment